Defensive Driving School

You may have received more than 1 charge on your Arizona Traffic Ticket and Complaint Form. If you qualify for the defensive driving program option, it may be applied to only one eligible traffic charge. You must appear in court or pay fines for any additional charges on or before the appearance date on your complaint. If you receive an extension to complete a Defensive Driving Class by the school or the court, it only applies to the eligible charge.

Advantages
  • You will not have to go to court for 1 traffic charge.
  • The eligible charge will be dismissed.
  • You will receive no points against your license for that charge. Points may increase insurance rates and may result in a license suspension.
  • You will not have to pay the court a civil sanction/fine for that charge, payment to Traffic School only.
Eligibility
  • You have not attended a Defensive Driving Class in the State of Arizona for dismissal of a traffic violation within 12 months from the date of your last violation.
  • Your civil traffic ticket charges a moving violation of 28-644 through and including 28-855.
  • Your traffic charge did not result from an accident involving death or serious injury.
  • Your traffic charge has not already been set to trial or hearing.
  • Any person who had a Commercial Driver License (CDL) at the time of their violation is NOT eligible to have their citation dismissed through attendance at a defensive driving class.
What to Do
  • Visit Arizona Court's Defensive Driving School's website or call the Defensive Driving Class information line at 888-334-5565 (automated response only). The Towns of Carefree and Cave Creek are located within Maricopa County.
  • Complete a defensive driving class 7 days prior to the court date written above your signature on the complaint.
Failure to complete the Defensive Driving Class at least 7 days prior to your court date may result in the entry of a default judgment and/or driver’s license suspension with additional monetary penalties being imposed.

If you wish to attend class in a state other than Arizona or would like to take an online class, you may do so by contacting a Supreme Court certified school.